Tech

Why I failed as a blogger and what I am doing about it

Blogging is a great way to share your opinion and become an authority in a particular field. It is possible to make lot’s of money from a blog if this is done right. I have been running this blog for seven years now and in that time I have only produced about 60 or so blog posts, not a lot of posts. I could have definitely done much better than what I did in the last seven years.

My posts to this blog have been sporadic and not focused. The biggest reason why my blog isn’t where I would like it to be is that for a long time, I didn’t know what to blog about. I didn’t feel like an expert in any field and did not feel that my opinion mattered. Sometimes, I did have ideas to blog about but I could never find time to write or I feared that my writing would not be as good as that of native English speakers. I needed help to get my blog back up and running, improve my communication skills and confidence. Fortunately for me, a developer by the name John Sonmez  created a step by step course for developers on How to create a blog that boosts your career.

I follow John Sonmez’s blog  Simple Programmer, his podcast and YouTube channel where he teaches life skills to developers and entrepreneurs. Lot’s of solid stuff there so when I saw a post about the blogging course I signed up immediately. The course is free and has an optional workbook which you can  purchase for $5.  In the course, John guides you through the entire process of creating your own blog, from choosing a webhost, installing wordpress right up to how to get traffic. The course lessons are delivered to your email inbox twice a week and each email contains homework and assignments you have to do.

I signed up for the course and also purchased the workbook and I am glad that I did, I am really starting to see results. My writing skills haven’t improved much since I took the course, but my confidence has! I know know how to blog, what to blog about, what mistakes to avoid and how to generate traffic. One of the biggest take aways I got from this course is that I need to be consistent in publishing posts, and I know how to do that now. I really believe that this course will help me in my professional endeavors. Have a look at the course here, I highly recommend it because of the value I got out of  the lessons and going through all the assignments.

Leave a Reply

